Acquisition Watch: care, children's services, pharmacy and diagnostics transactions, week to 28 August 2026
Tracked UK and US healthcare acquisitions in the week to 28 August 2026, including children's residential care, live-in care, clinical pharmacy, dental and teleradiology, read for what they say about owner valuations.
Published 28 August 2026. Window covered: 21 August to 28 August 2026. Written and reviewed by Joe Lewin, Founder and Managing Director, DealFlowAgent.
Key takeaways
- UK activity in this window sat almost entirely outside traditional elderly residential care. Children's residential care, live-in and domiciliary care, and clinical pharmacy services all changed hands.
- Private equity took a position in specialist care for young people: Endurance Capital acquired a majority stake in Forge Care, a trauma-informed children's residential provider in Warwickshire.
- Buyers continued to pay attention to commissioned, regulated services with a defined funder. Local authority placements, clinical pharmacy and CQC-registered homecare were the recurring characteristics.
- The two largest transactions were both agreed rather than completed: Radiology Partners and Everlight Radiology in teleradiology, and McKesson's roughly USD 2.25 billion agreement for Precision Medicine Group. Neither had closed at the date of publication.
- Deal values in the owner-managed UK transactions were not disclosed. That is normal, and it is why owners should benchmark on characteristics rather than on reported prices.
- The scarcity signal is the same across every one of these sub-sectors: registered managers, clinicians and good regulatory ratings. Where those are secure and documented, a business trades. Where they are not, it does not.
Deals at a glance
| Acquirer |
Target |
Sub-sector |
Location |
Status |
Date |
| Endurance Capital |
Forge Care Limited (majority stake) |
Children's residential care |
Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK |
Completed |
25 Aug |
| Grosvenor Health and Social Care |
Live-in care and homecare provider group |
Live-in care and domiciliary care |
UK |
Completed |
25 Aug |
| Agentis Health Group (LDC-backed) |
Clinical Pharmacist Solutions |
Clinical pharmacy services |
London, UK |
Completed |
25 Aug |
| Radiology Partners |
Everlight Radiology |
Teleradiology and diagnostic imaging |
London and Sydney |
Agreed |
25 Aug |
| McKesson Corporation |
Precision Medicine Group, LLC |
Clinical research and commercialisation |
Bethesda, Maryland, US |
Agreed, approx. USD 2.25bn |
25 Aug |
| Seva Dental Team LLC |
Meister Dental Group |
Dental |
Harrison and Fairfield, Ohio, US |
Completed |
24 Aug |
This is a sample of what we found and verified in the window. It is not a complete record of the market. Several further UK transactions were reported this week on sources we could not retrieve and date directly, so they are not listed.
DealFlowAgent works exclusively on the sell side with owner-managed healthcare businesses in the UK and US, typically between GBP 1 million and GBP 100 million of revenue, across care homes, supported living, children's services, domiciliary care, dental, pharmacy, veterinary and clinical services. We track these transactions weekly because our acquirer network registers its own criteria with us, which lets us read announcements like these against what buyers are actually looking for. To see where your own business sits, start with a free valuation report.
Who is buying UK children's and specialist care?
Private equity, and increasingly at the smaller end. Children's residential care has a persistent supply shortage against local authority demand, placement fees are high, and quality ratings are the entry ticket. That combination attracts investors who want a regulated, commissioned income stream with a defensible reason for existing.
Endurance Capital and Forge Care (Nuneaton, Warwickshire). Endurance Capital acquired a majority stake in Forge Care, a provider of trauma-informed residential care for children and young people, founded by the Miller family and operating from purpose-designed homes in rural Warwickshire. The deal value was not disclosed. [1]
A majority stake rather than an outright purchase is worth noting. It is a common structure in founder-led care businesses where the buyer wants the founder and the registered managers to stay, and where the seller wants to release capital now and take a second payment when the group is sold on. It can be an excellent outcome. It can also leave a founder with a minority holding and no control over the timing of the eventual exit, so the shareholders' agreement matters more than the headline valuation.
Related reading: personal and specialist care, mental health services, care home valuation multiples, elderly care.
What is happening in live-in care and homecare?
Consolidation continues, and buyers are targeting groups rather than single branches. Homecare is difficult to scale organically because it is constrained by carer recruitment, so acquiring an established rota, a registered manager and a live local authority or private client base is often faster than building one.
Grosvenor Health and Social Care and a live-in care and homecare provider group. Grosvenor Health and Social Care acquired a live-in care and homecare provider group, extending its coverage in a part of the market where regulated capacity is difficult to build from scratch. [2]
For an owner in domiciliary or live-in care, three things drive value more than revenue does. The first is the mix of privately funded to local authority funded hours, because private hours carry better rates and fewer payment terms problems. The second is carer retention, which a buyer will test against your rota data rather than your word. The third is your CQC rating and the stability of your registered manager, because a change of registered manager during a sale process can delay completion by months.
Related reading: domiciliary care, personal care, elderly care, healthcare M&A.
Why are clinical services and pharmacy attracting backed buyers?
Because they sit between the NHS and primary care with a service that is in demand and short of qualified people, and because a group can add clinicians faster than an independent practice can.
Agentis Health Group and Clinical Pharmacist Solutions (London). LDC-backed Agentis Health Group acquired London-headquartered Clinical Pharmacist Solutions, adding clinical pharmacy capability to the group. [3]
Backing matters here. When a private equity house is already invested in the acquirer, the buyer usually has committed funds, a defined deal size and a board that expects a certain number of acquisitions a year. That makes them fast and reliable counterparties. It also means the process will be run to their template, and an owner without their own advice tends to accept the first structure offered.
Related reading: pharmacy M&A, GP practices, clinics, urgent care.
What did the larger, cross-border transactions signal?
Two agreements in this window were substantially larger than anything at the owner-managed end, and both were in services that support clinicians rather than deliver front-line care.
Radiology Partners and Everlight Radiology (agreed). Radiology Partners entered a definitive agreement to acquire Everlight Radiology, an international teleradiology provider covering hospitals and imaging providers across the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. Financial terms were not disclosed by the parties, and figures reported in the trade press have varied. [4]
McKesson and Precision Medicine Group (agreed, approximately USD 2.25 billion). McKesson signed a definitive agreement to acquire Precision Medicine Group, a global provider of clinical research and biopharma commercialisation services. [5]
Seva Dental Team and Meister Dental Group (Ohio). At the smaller end, Seva Dental Team acquired Meister Dental Group, adding two clinical locations in Harrison and Fairfield, Ohio. Terms were not disclosed. [6]
The read-across for an owner is about status, not size. Both of the large transactions are agreements, not completions. A signed agreement in healthcare frequently carries conditions: regulatory clearance, funder consent, landlord consent, CQC or state licensing transfers. If you are selling a regulated business, the gap between exchange and completion is where deals are lost, and it is shortened by having your registrations, leases and clinician contracts in order before you go to market.
Related reading: diagnostic imaging, dental practice multiples, dental, physiotherapy, optometry.
What owners can act on
Registered manager stability. In every regulated UK sub-sector in this list, the registered manager is a diligence item and a completion risk. Long-standing, contracted and not planning to leave with you is worth real money.
Ratings, evidenced. Good or Outstanding CQC or Ofsted ratings, with the underlying inspection reports and action plans, materially change the buyer pool. A recent Requires Improvement does not stop a sale, but it changes who will look.
Occupancy and funder mix. Occupancy trend over 24 months, split by funder, is the first spreadsheet a care buyer builds. Build it yourself before they do.
Clinician and carer retention. Retention data, agency spend as a percentage of staff cost, and recruitment lead times are the operational metrics buyers use to sense-check whether your margin is sustainable.
Understand a majority-stake offer properly. Minority protections, exit timing, drag and tag rights and how the second payment is calculated matter as much as the price. Take advice on the shareholders' agreement, not just the valuation.
Prepare for conditionality. Registrations, CQC transfers, leases, funder contracts and clinician employment terms should be assembled before you talk to anyone. It is the single most effective way to protect a price once it is agreed.
Our free valuation report assesses thirty factors across finance, people, operations, account management and growth, and is reviewed by a human before it reaches you.
Related guides and sector pages
Valuation guides: care home multiples, dental practice multiples. Full index: valuation guides.
Sector pages: healthcare, care homes, elderly care, domiciliary care, personal care, mental health, dental, pharmacy, GP practices, clinics, diagnostic imaging, physiotherapy, veterinary, optometry, urgent care.
Owner resources: who is buying, exit planning, exit readiness, already approached by a buyer, our approach.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between an agreed deal and a completed deal?
An agreed deal is a signed contract that has not yet closed. In healthcare it usually depends on regulatory approvals, registration transfers, funder or landlord consents, and sometimes competition clearance. A completed deal has closed and the money has moved. Both are reported as acquisitions in the press, which is why we label each transaction.
Should I accept a majority-stake investment rather than a full sale?
It depends on what you want. A majority stake releases capital now, keeps you involved and can produce a larger total return if the group grows and sells well. It also means you no longer control the timing or terms of the final exit. The value of that structure sits in the shareholders' agreement rather than in the headline number, and it warrants separate legal advice.
None of these deals disclosed a price. How do I benchmark my care business?
By characteristics. Occupancy, funder mix, fee rates, registered manager stability, ratings, agency spend and property tenure are what set the range in this sector. Reported prices, where they exist at all, are usually the largest and least comparable transactions. A free valuation report gives you a specific range with the reasoning behind it.
My CQC rating is Requires Improvement. Can I still sell?
Yes, but it changes the buyer pool and it usually changes the structure, often with more consideration deferred against post-completion performance. Most experienced care acquirers have bought and improved services before. The important thing is that the issues are known, documented and being actively addressed, rather than discovered in diligence.
Do you approach buyers about my business when I request a valuation?
No. We do not contact any acquirer about your company until we hold a formal mandate with your written permission. The valuation and buyer mapping happen with no contact with the market.
How long does a regulated healthcare sale take to complete?
Longer than most owners expect, because registration transfers and funder consents run on their own timetable rather than yours. Preparation before going to market is what compresses it.
Sources
- HealthInvestor UK, "Endurance Capital acquires stake in Forge Care", 25 August 2026
- Caring Times, "Grosvenor Health and Social Care acquires live-in care and homecare provider group", 25 August 2026
- HealthInvestor UK, "Agentis Health Group acquires Clinical Pharmacist Solutions", 25 August 2026
- HIT Consultant, "Radiology Partners to acquire Everlight Radiology, creating a global leader in teleradiology", 25 August 2026. The acquirer's own release of the same date is at radpartners.com, but that page blocks automated requests.
- McKesson Corporation, "McKesson signs agreement to acquire Precision Medicine Group, LLC", 25 August 2026
- LevinPro Healthcare M&A, "Seva Dental Team expands in Ohio with acquisition of Meister Dental Group", 24 August 2026
Methodology and disclosure
Transactions were identified through sector-specific and country-specific searches covering 21 August to 28 August 2026, then verified by opening each source page and reading its stated publication date. Company newsrooms, regulatory filings and specialist deal press are treated as primary or near-primary. Aggregators and social posts are used for discovery only. Deal values, locations and business descriptions are as stated by the sources cited; nothing has been inferred or estimated. Agreed transactions are labelled as agreed. Every external link above was checked at the time of publication. Several additional candidates found in this window were excluded: some because the reporting source could not be retrieved directly, and at least one because the original announcement proved to date from an earlier month than the coverage suggested.
Nothing in this article is investment, financial, legal or regulatory advice. Commentary describes patterns across the transactions listed and is not an assessment of any individual company.
Get Your Free Valuation Report · More insights